Skip to main content

University of North Carolina Wilmington Landmark Committee Records

Identifier: SC-MS-268

Scope and Contents

This collection includes minutes, memoranda, letters, photographs, and blueprints associated with the development of the University landmarks and student commons area between 1983 and 1987. The collection focuses on the Landmark Committee’s progress, documents a meeting held with the Board of Trustees, and includes negatives and blueprints of landmark designs. Much of the collection relates to the research of the Historical Events Committee, a subcommittee established by John J. Burney, Jr., and includes maps and seals from counties in the lower Cape Fear region. Finally, the collection contains statements, masterplan designs, and brochure drafts pertaining to the university commons landscape project from 1982 to 1983. Additional items in the collection include biographical material on Landmark Committee chairman Samuel D. Bissette as an artist.


  • 1982 May 28 - 1987 December 31

Conditions Governing Access

This collection is open for research use.

Copyright Statement

Copyright retained by the authors of items in these papers, or their descendants, as stipulated by United States copyright law.

Biographical / Historical

In August 1983, John J. Burney, Jr., Chairman of the University of North Carolina Wilmington Board of Trustees, formed the Landmark Committee with the mission of determining an appropriate landmark for the UNC Wilmington campus. Burney appointed banker and artist Samuel D. Bissette as chairman and physician Sigmond Bear as vice-chairman. Local physician, civil rights advocate, and UNCW Board of Trustees member Hubert Eaton also served on the committee. The committee eventually conceived of a ground map and monolith design for the landmark On March 23, 1984, Burney directed former New Hanover County Schools Superintendent Heyward C. Bellamy, chairman of the Historical Events sub-committee, to research and recommend to the Board of Trustees the historical events, places, and people to inscribe on map and monoliths. Along with Bellamy, UNCW Political Science professor Lee Johnston, UNCW Librarian Louise Jackson, and New Hanover County librarian Beverly Tetterton also served on the Historical Events sub-committee. Jairy C. Hunter, Jr., Vice Chancellor for Business Affairs and Development, and John R. Jefferies, Architects and Planners, advised the Landmark Committee on how their landmark concept could best fit preexisting plans for a university commons.


0.83 Linear Feet (Contains 2 document boxes and 2 oversized folders.)




This collection is arranged into the following series: Landmark Committee Documents, 1983-1987; Historical Events Committee Documents, 1984-1987; Campus Commons Plans, 1982-1983.

Acquisition Information

This collection was donated by the UNCW Landmark Committee, date unknown.

Related Materials

Additional UNCW Landmark Committee records can also be found in the University Archives collections.

Processing Information

This collection was reprocessed by Lencia Beltran in Fall 2021.

University of North Carolina Wilmington Landmark Committee Records
Lencia Beltran
2021 September 27
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Language of description note

Repository Details

Part of the Randall Library Special Collections Repository