Skip to main content

University of North Carolina Wilmington Presidents and Chancellors Records

 Record Group
Identifier: UA-RG-03

Scope and Contents

This collection consists of administrative files from the Presidents and Chancellors of the institution, including correspondence, accreditation reports, installation and inauguration programs, administrative materials, and biographical information.Topics from William Madison Randall's service as the last president of Wilmington College include the North Carolina Speaker Ban and the college's change from junior college to four-year school status. This collection also has records from Dr. Randall's work as Dean of the College from 1952-1958, before he was president. William H. Wagoner's files include material about Wilmington College's joining the University of North Carolina System in 1969. Administrative records from James R. Leutze's chancellorship include documents about the growth of international programs. Of special interest are suggestion box files from James R. Leutze. Rosemary DePaolo's files include information about the "Paint the Town Teal" initiative.The collection includes reports, event information, and installation programs for Gary Miller, Jose Sartarelli, and Aswani K. Volety. Wilmington College evolved from a two-year, locally supported institution to a large research university and constituent of the University of North Carolina System of public higher education. Increasingly, the university chancellor's role involves the delegation of operational responsibilities to other university administrators.


  • Creation: 1952-2023


Conditions Governing Access

There are no access restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

The content described is copyrighted and presented courtesy of the University of North Carolina Wilmington Randall Library. This material may be used for educational and scholarship purposes provided: a) proper attribution accompanies any use of the content; b) the use, copy, republication, display, and/or distribution is not for commercial purposes; and c) you may not alter, add to, change, modify, or revise the subject content.

Historical Note

The first college president was Thomas Tristam Hamilton who simulataneously served as New Hanover High School principal. John T. Hoggard, a long-time chair of the Board of Education, simulataneously served as the second president. When Dr. Hoggard stepped down as president, he became chairman of the first Board of Trustees while retaining his chairmanship on the Board of Education. William Madison Randall was president from 1958-1968, after having served as Dean for six years. William H. Wagoner, superintendant at New Hanover County Schools, became college president in 1968. Wilmington College joined the University of North Carolina System the next year, and Dr. Wagoner's title changed from president to chancellor. He was the first university leader with the title of chancellor. James R. Leutze was the second chancellor, followed by Rosemary DePaolo.


14 Linear Feet (11 records center boxes, 1 document box, 1 scrapbook)

Language of Materials



Chancellor's and president's record series are arranged chronologically. Within series, files are arranged alphabetically by topic.

Related Materials

University of North Carolina Wilmington Biographical Collection, RG-13, University Archives, William M. Randall Library, University of North Carolina Wilmington.

Separated Materials

Files for Thomas Tristram Hamilton and John Thomas Hoggard, the first two college presidents, are in RG-13, University of North Carolina Wilmington Biographical Collection. A file for William A. Sederburg who served as Interim Chancellor is also in RG-13, University of North Carolina Wilmington Biographical Collection.

Processing Information

This collection was processed by Adina Riggins and Nina Herzog

University of North Carolina Wilmington Presidents and Chancellors Records
Nina Herzog
2022 January 31
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the University Archives Repository